Board of Directors


Marlynn May, Texas A&M Health Science Center

President-Elect / 2018 Program Chair
Tom Gerschick, Illinois State University

Immediate Past President / ASA Representative
Phyllis Baker, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign

Lee Miller, 
Sam Houston State University

Geoff Harkness, Rhode Island College

Lisa Thrane, Wichita State University

President-Elect-Elect* / 2020 Program Chair
Julie Pelton, 
University of Nebraska Omaha


At-large Director [2018-21]
Allison Vetter
, Henderson State University

At-large Director [2018-20]
Veronica Medina, Indiana University Southeast

Illinois Director [2018-21]
Meghan Burke, 
Illinois Wesleyan University

Iowa Director [2017-20]
Patrick Archer, 
St. Ambrose University

Kansas Director [2017-20]
Jennifer Pearson, 
Wichita State University

Minnesota Director [2018-21]
Erik Larson, 
Macalester College

Missouri Director [2017-20]
Joan Hermsen, 
University of Missouri

Nebraska Director [2016-19]
Megan Nielsen, 
Midland University

North & South Dakota Director [2016-19]
Pamela Emanuelson, 
North Dakota State University

Wisconsin Director [2016-19]
Akiko Yoshida, 
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Student Directors
Meggan Lee, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign [2016-19]
Julia Mendes, Loyola University Chicago [2017-20]
Dalton Stevens, Syracuse University [2018-2021]

Appointed Positions

Media Editor (to include The Midwest Sociologist)
Matt Reid, 
Western Michigan University

Editor(s) of The Sociological Quarterly
Mike Lacy, Colorado State University
N. Prabha Unnithan, Colorado State University

Director of Exhibits / Advertising
Eve Blobaum, Johnson County Community College

Annual Meeting Committee Chair
Laurie Linhart, Des Moines Area Community College

Local Arrangements Chair [2019, Chicago]
Meggan Lee, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign

Long Range Planning Committee Chair
Diane Pike, Augsburg University

Publications Committee Chair
Brian Donovan, University of Kansas

Executive Director
Jennifer Talarico, Midwest Sociological Society



*The President Elect-Elect is not formally a member of the Board until they become President-Elect.