Awards & Grants

Did you know…….??
  •    Last year, MSS awarded more than $28,000 in grants and awards to MSS members.
  •    A history of the professional award winners is here: past winners.

Awards & Grants from the Midwest Sociological Society

The MSS:
  • gives awards in several categories of professional service and scholarship,
  • sponsors an annual student paper competition with six cash prizes,
  • offers small grants to support research by mss members,
  • and provides travel grants to members who are students or adjunct/contingent faculty attending the mss annual meeting.
Download procedural rules and regulations for the various awards and grants below. Questions? Contact the executive office by email.


Competitive Awards for Professionals

Annual Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award 
Nominations due November 1, 2017
Award Application Details 

Biennial The Sociological Quarterly Award*
Nominations due: TBA 
Application Info to Come 

Annual MSS Distinguished Book Award
Nominations due October 31, 2017
Award Application Detail

Biennial Early Career Scholarship Award**
Nominations due November 15, 2017

Award Application Details 

See past winners of professional awards.

*The Sociological Quarterly Award is awarded at the annual meeting in years ending in an odd number: 2015, 2017, 2019, etc.
**The Early Career Scholarship Award is given at the annual meeting in years ending in an even number: 2016, 2018, 2020, etc.

Grants for Professionals

Grants to support Visiting Scholars/Researchers
Applications suspended until further notice

Grants for Research
Applications accepted Jan. 15 – Feb. 15 only
Application Details

Annual Meeting Travel Grants for Adjunct/Contingent Faculty
Applications Due Feb. 15, 2018
Application Details 

Competitive Awards for Students

Student Paper Competition
sample cover page | sample paper
Papers due Jan. 10, 2018
Competition Guidelines and Details

Grants for Students

Annual Meeting Travel Grants for Students
Applications due March 1, 2018
Application Guidelines and Details


Grants for Grass-Roots Organizations in Support of Social Action

MSS also awards two $1000 grants each year to nonprofit organizations doing grassroots work in pursuit of social justice and social change in the MSS geographical area.

Nominations due December 1, 2017
Nomination Details


Opportunities from Other Groups

Occasionally, announcements about professional positions, awards, or opportunities are sent to us by other groups. These are posted at the Jobs & Opportunities page.

Past Award Winners

MSS Distinguished Book Award

Culling the Masses: The Democratic Origins of Racist Immigration Policy in the Americas 
Harvard University Press, 2014
David Cook Martin, Grinnell College, and David Scott Fitzgerald, University of California San Diego

Honorable Mentions:
Organizing Organic: Conflict and Compromise in an Emerging Market
Stanford University Press
Michael Haedicke

Engines of Anxiety: Academic Rankings, Reputation, and Accountability
The Russell State Foundation
Wendy Nelson Espeland and Michael Sauder

Friends Disappear: The Battle for Racial Equality in Evanston
The University of Chicago Press
Mary Barr

Chicago Hustle and Flow: Gangs, Gangsta Rap, and Social Class
University of Minnesota Press
Dr. Geoff Harkness, Morningside College

Blue Juice:  Euthanasia in Veterinary Medicine
Temple University
Dr. Patricia Morris, Drury University

Lincoln, Inc: Selling the Sixteenth President in Contemporary America
Rowman and Littlefield
Dr. Jackie Hogan, Bradley University

The Paradox of Youth Violence
Lynne Rienner Publishers
Dr. J. William “Jack” Spencer, Purdue University

Honorable mention:
The Tender Cut
New York University Press
Dr. Patricia A. Adler, University of Colorado, and Dr. Peter Adler, University of Denver

Behind the Backlash: Muslim Americans after 9/11
Temple University Press
Dr. Lori Peek, Colorado State University

Counted Out: Same-Sex Relations and Americans’ Definitions of Family
Russell Sage Foundation.
Dr. Brian Powell, Indiana University, Dr. Catherine Bolzendahl, University of California-Irvine, Dr. Claudia Geist, University of Utah, and Dr. Lala Carr Steelman, University of South Carolina

Deliverance and Submission: Evangelical Women and the Negotiation of Patriarchy in South Korea
Harvard University Asia Center
Dr. Kelly Chong, University of Kansas

Wannabes, Goths, and Christians: The Boundaries of Sex, Style, and Status
University of Chicago Press
Dr. Amy Wilkins, University of Colorado-Boulder

Postindustrial Peasants: The Illusion of Middle-Class Prosperity
Worth Publishers
Dr. Kevin Leicht, University of Iowa & Dr. Scott Fitzgerald, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Black Intimacies: A Gender Perspective on Families and Relationships
Altamira Press
Dr. Shirley A. Hill, University of Kansas

MSS The Sociological Quarterly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Award

2017— No award.
2015— No award.
2013— Dr. Aaron M. McCright, Michigan State University, and Dr. Riley E. Dunlap, Oklahoma State University, for their article, “The Politicalization of Climate Change and Polarization in the American Public’s Views of Global Warming, 2001-2010,” published in Vol. 52 (Spring, 2011): 155-94
2011— Dr. Steven H. Lopez, Dr. Randy Hodson, and Dr. Vincent Roscigno, all of Ohio State University, for their article, “Power, Status, and Abuse at Work: General and Sexual Harassment Compared”
2009— Dr. Danny Kaplan, Bar Ilan University, for his article, “Folk Models of Dyadic Male Bonds in Israeli Culture”

MSS Early Career Scholarship Award

2014—Dr. Mary E Campbell, Texas A & M University
2012—Dr. ChangHwan Kim, University of Kansas & Dr. Melissa Walls, University of Minnesota Medical School-Duluth
2010— Dr. Scott Harris, Saint Louis University
2008— Dr. Jennifer Dunn, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale & Dr. Doug Hartmann, University of Minnesota

MSS Departmental Award for Teaching Excellence

2010— Sociology Department of Macalester College
2009— Sociology Department of Augsburg College

MSS Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award

2016 – Dr. Aditi Mitra, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, for her work with American Association of University Women (AAUW)
2015—Betty Edwards, Founder, Human Trafficking Task Force of Southern Colorado
2014—Dr. Susan Haworth-Hoeppner, Aquinas College, for her work with Girls Empowering Together
2013—Mytoan Nguyen Akbar, University of Wisconsin Madison, for her work with the Telling Our Stories Across Generations Project
2012—Dr. Meg Wilkes Karraker, University of St. Thomas for her activism on behalf of women and girls
2011—Dr. Andrea Nichols, St. Louis Community College, for her tireless efforts to empower women economically and furthering the study of domestic violence and improving policy
2010— Dr. Ellen Kennedy, University of Minnesota, for finding and directing the Genocide Intervention Network of Minnesota and work with the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota.
2009— Dr. Pamela Forman, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, for working with elementary-aged girls, service to the University of Wisconsin, and her support of the LGBT community in Eau Claire.
2008— Dr. Kathryn Ward, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, for service with women and girls in Bangladesh and for her teaching and research.
2007— Dr. Martha Thompson, Northeastern Illinois University, for her work in the community to empower women and her teaching of feminism and gender at Northeastern Illinois University.